中國疫苗行業研究系列III
中國疫苗市場動態

作者: Saniel Chandrawat

基金經理兼高級投資分析師

我們的研究團隊

在“疫苗簡介”中,我們討論了不同類型的疫苗。在本文中,我們將重點關注中國疫苗市場動態。

捉緊機會

灼識諮詢(CIC)根據里昂證券(CLSA)在2019年5月10日的報告中稱,2013至2017年間,中國疫苗市場的年均複合增長率將從199億元人民幣增至253億元人民幣,年均複合增長率(CAGR)為6.2%。根據灼識諮詢的預測,該範疇有望於2030年達到人民幣1065億元,從2017年起計,年均複合增長率(CAGR)為11.7%。

同時,里昂證券在2019年5月10日發佈的報告中,中國的私人疫苗行業的年均複合增長率於2013-17年年均複合增長率14.9%,從124億元人民幣增至217億元人民幣,幾乎翻了一番。灼識諮詢根據里昂證券 2019年5月10日的報告預測,於2030年它將達到1,019億元人民幣,較2017年的年均複合增長率為12.7%。此由科研強化支持新疫苗及創新疫苗開發所驅動。

引領全球市場的疫苗

灼識諮詢的數據顯示,2017年全球疫苗市場規模達到438億美元,在2013-17年年均複合增長率為8.7%。

輝瑞公司的Prevnar 13是一種抗肺炎的疫苗,在2017年銷售額佔最大市場佔有率,為13%。Gardasil/ Gardasil 9(HPV疫苗)排名第二,合計5%。 同時,賽諾菲生產了有助於預防DTP,Hib和脊髓灰質炎的Hexaxim,Hexyon,Pentacel和Pentaxim。 他們合計佔了另外5%。

中國疫苗市場

根據中國國務院發布的《疫苗流通和預防接種管理條例》,里昂證券2019年5月10日的報告,中國的疫苗市場分為兩類。 第1類是公民免費的疫苗,而第2類是由個人自費的疫苗。

第1類疫苗是由省疾控中心從製造商處購買的,其價格比2類產品低,並免費向公眾提供。 公開市場上的疫苗價格受政府監管,並通常較低,而在私人市場上分發的疫苗則以更高的價格出售且利潤率更高。

國企佔市場總額40

中國國家食品藥品監督管理局的批量發放數據顯示,2018年中國疫苗市場高度細分,其中40%以上由國企控制,而當中有七家提供國內疫苗產品。

第1類疫苗主要由國企提供。 一些私營企業,例如康泰生物和長盛生物科技,也生產並提供幾種類型的第1類疫苗。 隨著國家防疫計劃的進一步擴大,我們預計該計劃將包括更多的第2類疫苗,使私營企業的市場佔有率將逐漸增加。

我們將討論中國疫苗市場的三個主要細分市場。

腦膜炎球菌疫苗市場

腦膜炎奈瑟氏球菌是引起腦膜炎和其他形式的腦膜炎球菌疾病的細菌。腦膜炎球菌疫苗主要有兩種類型:MPSV和MCV(腦膜炎球菌多醣疫苗和腦膜炎球菌疫苗),兩者都有二價和四價版本。 MPSV是中國的主要腦膜炎球菌疫苗,而MCV2是該國唯一只能在私人市場上購買的可用腦膜炎球菌結合疫苗。但是在發達國家中,MPSV已經被MCV產品所取代,而腦膜炎球菌疫苗市場被MCV4疫苗所主導。覆蓋更廣血清的MCV4疫苗預計將在中國逐步取代MCV2產品。

根據CIC於CLSA 2019年5月10日的報告,中國的腦膜炎球菌疫苗市場預計將從2017年的21億人民幣增長到2030年的70億人民幣,年均複合增長率為9.9%。MCV產品有望成為關鍵增長動力,尤其是於MCV4疫苗的推出。

競爭形勢 – 沃森,Royal和智飛製造了3種在中國市售的MCV2產品和1種MCV2與Hib的組合疫苗,還有4種候選MCV2正在開發中。 智飛的MCV2與Hib的組合疫苗在2018年佔據了57%的市場佔有率,其次是Royal的MCV2製劑佔32%。

肺炎球菌疫苗市場

據灼識諮詢稱,於里昂證券2019年5月10日的報告中,2017年中國肺炎球菌疫苗市場銷售額達15億元人民幣。肺炎球菌多醣疫苗(PPV23)和肺炎球菌結合疫苗(PCV13)這兩種國內產品均可用於預防肺炎球菌疾病。 CIC(c)預計,在2030年,肺炎球菌疫苗市場規模將達到146億元人民幣,從2017至2030年的年均復合增長率為19.7%。

競爭格局 –根據中國國家食品藥品監督管理局提供的批量發佈數據,輝瑞公司的Prevnar 13是2018年肺炎球菌疫苗市場上最大的單一公司,佔有38%的市場佔有率,緊隨其後的是佔37%的國企成都研究所,15%的沃森和10%的默克。 同時,還有一些公司處於不同開發階段的PCV13。

DTP(白喉,破傷風和百日咳)疫苗市場

在中國的DTP疫苗市場中,共同純化的DTaP和DTcP(白喉,破傷風,百日咳)疫苗是兩種主要製劑。

至2030年,中國DTP疫苗市場預計將由2017年的19億元人民幣增至86億元人民幣,年均複合增長率為12.6%。

根據康希諾生物說法,鑑於DTcP是疫苗組合的關鍵成分,並且在該行業中組合製劑的發展正出現不斷增長的趨勢,DTcP的組合疫苗預計將在未來幾年於中國逐步取代共同純化的DTaP。


競爭
格局 –根據中國國家食品藥品監督管理局提供的批量發佈數據,在中國DTP疫苗市場中,DTaP產品總計佔市場97%的佔有率。 國企武漢研究所的DTaP疫苗以81%的市場佔有率主導了該領域。 2017年,民海的DTaP-Hib和沃森的DTaP分別佔市場的9%和7%。康希諾生物和Beijing Bio-Institute是僅有DTcP疫苗的兩家開發商,並且都已獲得臨床試驗申請(CTA)批准。 此外,根據CLSA於2019年5月10日發布的報告,康希諾生物還為4至6歲的兒童以及青少年和成人加快進度。

國內疫苗公司對中國獨特的疫苗分銷供應鏈有深刻的了解成為潛在進入企業的進入壁壘。

相關ETF

Global X中國生物科技ETF 致力於取得與Solactive中國生物科技指數NTR表現密切相關的投資效果、透過投資中國生物技術發展中舉足輕重的公司,從而抓住這一領域的巨大發展潛力。

其他特徵

  • 不受局限的投資方法:透過追蹤新興主題,該基金的組成超越了傳統的行業和工業分類。
  • ETF的投資便利:透過一次買賣交易,該基金可以投資於數十家以中國生物科技為主題的公司。

點擊此處以了解更多有關Global X中國生物科技ETF 的資料。

Chinese Vaccine Industry Research Series III
China’s Vaccine Market Dynamics

By: Saniel Chandrawat

Senior Investment Analyst – Healthcare, Energy, Utilities

Meet Our Research Team

In our ‘Introduction to vaccine’ piece we discussed different types of vaccines. In this note, we will focus on China’s vaccine market dynamics.

Sizing the Opportunity

China’s vaccine market grew at 6.2% CAGR from RMB19.9bn to RMB25.3bn by 2013-2017, according to “CIC” (China Insights Consultancy), according to CLSA report dated May 10th, 2019. Per CIC forecasts the sector is expected to accelerate to RMB106.5bn in 2030, that is an 11.7% compound annual growth rate (“CAGR”) from 2017.

Meanwhile, the country’s private vaccine sector delivered a faster 14.9% CAGR over 2013-17, when it nearly doubled from RMB12.4bn to RMB21.7bn, according to CLSA report dated May 10th, 2019). CIC, , according to CLSA report dated May 10th, 2019, forecasts that it will reach RMB101.9bn by 2030, representing a 12.7% CAGR from 2017. This will be driven by strengthening R&D capabilities supporting the development of new and innovative vaccines.

Vaccines that Lead in the Global Market

The global vaccine market reached US$43.8bn in 2017, an 8.7% CAGR 2013-17, according to CIC.

Pfizer’s Prevnar 13, a preparation that immunizes against pneumonia, had the largest market share by sales with 13% in 2017. Gardasil/Gardasil 9 (HPV vaccines) ranked second with a combined 5%. Meanwhile Hexaxim, Hexyon, Pentacel and Pentaxim, which help to prevent DTP, Hib and Polio, are made by Sanofi; together they accounted for another 5%.

China Vaccine Market Segmentation

According to the Regulation on the Administration of Circulation and Vaccination of Vaccines issued by the State Council of China, , according to CLSA report dated May 10th, 2019, China’s vaccine market is divided into two categories. Category-1, refers to vaccines that are free of charge to citizens, while category-2, vaccines are paid out-of-pocket by individuals.

Category-1 vaccines are purchased from manufacturers by provincial CDCs (Centre for Disease Control and Prevention) at relatively lower prices compared to category-2 products, and are offered to the public for free. Vaccine prices in the public market is regulated by the government and are generally low, while those distributed in the private market are sold at higher prices and have better margins.

State Owned Enterprises (SOEs) Account for 40% by Volume

Lot-release volume data by China’s National Institutes for Food and Drug Control (NIFDC) show that China’s vaccine market was highly segmented in 2018, with more than 40% controlled by SOEs. There are seven SOEs that provide vaccine products in China.

Category-1 vaccines are mainly supplied by SOEs. Some private-sector players, such as Kangtai Biological and Changsheng Biotech, also manufacture and provide several types of category-1 vaccines. With the further expansion of the national immunization program, we expect more category-2 vaccines to be included in the scheme, with private-sector players’ market share gradually increasing.

We discuss below 3 key sub-segments in China’s vaccine market.

Meningococcal Vaccine Market 

Neisseria meningitides is a bacterium that causes meningitis and other forms of meningococcal disease. There are two main types of meningococcal vaccines: MPSV and MCV (Meningococcal polysaccharide vaccine and Meningococcal vaccine). Both of have bi-valent and quadra-valent versions. MPSV is the primary meningococcal vaccine in China, while MCV2 is the only available meningococcal conjugate vaccine in the country and can only be purchased in the private market. However, in developed countries, MPSV has already been replaced by MCV products and the meningococcal vaccine market is dominated by MCV4 vaccines. MCV4 vaccines, which have broader serogroup coverage, are forecast to gradually replace MCV2 products in China.

The meningococcal vaccine market in China is expected to reach RMB7bn in sales in 2030, from RMB2.1bn in 2017, a 9.9% CAGR, according to CIC, according to CLSA report dated May 10th, 2019. MCV products are expected to be the key growth driver, especially the launch of MCV4 vaccines.

Competitive landscape – There are three marketed MCV2 products and one combination vaccine of MCV2 with Hib in China that are manufactured by Walvax, Royal and Zhifei Lvzhu, as well as four MCV2 candidates are under the development stage. The combination vaccine of MCV2 with Hib from Zhifei Lvzhu dominated the market with a 57% share in 2018, followed by Royal’s MCV2 preparation at 32%.

Pneumococcal Vaccine Market 

According to CIC, according to CLSA report dated May 10th, 2019, China’s pneumococcal vaccine market recorded RMB1.5bn in sales in 2017. The 23-valent pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine (PPV23) and 13-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV13) are the two available products domestically for the prevention of pneumococcal diseases. The pneumococcal vaccine market is expected to reach RMB14.6bnin 2030, a 19.7% CAGR 2017-2030, according to CIC(c).

Competitive landscape – Pfizer’s Prevnar 13 was the biggest-single player in the pneumococcal vaccine market in 2018 with a 38% market share, closely followed by Chengdu Institute, an SOE company, with 37%, Walvax (15%) and Merck (10%), according to lot-release data provided by NIFDC. There are also several PCV13 candidates that are under different development stages.

DTP (Diphtheria, Tetanus and Pertussis) Vaccine Market

In China’s DTP vaccine market, co-purified DTaP and DTcP (Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis) vaccines are the two main types of preparations.

The DTP vaccine market in China is expected to reach RMB 8.6bnin 2030 (from RMB1.9bn in 2017), a 12.6% CAGR.

Given that DTcP is a key backbone component of a combination of vaccines and there is an emerging trend of increasing development of combination preparations in the industry, according to CanSino Bio (“CanSino”), DTcP, the DTcP-based combination vaccine in China is expected to gradually replace co-purified DTaP in the coming years.

Competitive landscape – According to lot-release data provided by NIFDC, in DTP vaccine market in China, DTaP products in total accounted for 97% of market share. DTaP vaccines from Wuhan Institute, which is an SOE company, dominated the sector with an 81% market share. DTaP-Hib from Minhai and DTaP from Walvax accounted for 9% and 7% of the market in 2017, respectively. CanSino and Beijing Bio-Institute are the only two developers who have DTcP vaccine candidates and both have received clinical-trial application (CTA) approval. In addition, CanSino also has a booster schedule for children four-to-six years old, along with adolescents and adults, according to CLSA report dated May 10th, 2019.

Domestic vaccine companies have a strong understanding of China’s unique vaccine distribution supply chain; this acts as a barrier of entry for new entrants.

Related ETF

Global X China Biotech ETF seeks to provide investment results that closely correspond to the performance of the Solactive China Biotech Index NTR, offering an access high growth potential through companies critical to the development of biotechnology in China.

Other Features

Targeted Exposure: The fund delivers targeted exposure to an emerging theme and industry.

ETF Efficiency: In a single trade, the fund delivers access to dozens of companies with high exposure to the biotech theme in China.

Click here to learn more about our Global X China Biotech ETF.