中國臨床研究服務業

作者: Saniel Chandrawat

基金經理兼高級投資分析師

我們的研究團隊

藥物研發流程

過程中涉及研發和對候選藥物進行測試,以證明其安全性和有效性,從而獲得監管機構批准進入市場。 此過程通常是昂貴、複雜、存在風險和耗時的,整個過程通常包括四個階段,分別是(i)發現、(ii)臨床前、(iii)臨床和註冊,包括I至IV期臨床試驗和(iv)製造。

研發外判服務

藥品研發過程的複雜、存在風險、耗時和昂貴的性質對藥品研發外判服務產生了巨大的需求。 此類服務由兩種類型的藥品研發外判服務商提供,分別是CROs(合同研究組織)和CDMOs(合同開發製造組織)。 CROs為製藥公司提供各種研發的服務,包括研發、臨床前以及臨床和註冊階段,而CDMOs在製造階段主要從事CMC(化學、製造和控制)的服務。

隨著製藥行業不斷發展,CROs在需要大量資本、複雜、存在風險和耗時的製藥研發過程中發揮著越來越重要的作用。 CROs提供全面的研發解決方案,涵蓋(i)發現階段、(ii)臨床前階段和(iii)臨床階段,包括I至IV期臨床試驗。

製藥公司依靠具有強大項目管理和科學專業知識,專業經驗豐富的人才庫,創新技術和豐富監管經驗的CROs來管理複雜的項目,以降低研發風險和成本,並加快開發安全有效藥物。

推動全球以及中國醫藥研發服務市場增長的關鍵因素包括:

  • 增加研發支出,推動CROs的增長。
  • 研發過程的複雜性越來越高–這導致許多製藥公司將更多的研發活動外判給具有先進技術及經驗豐富的CROs。
  • 節省成本–面對新藥開發競爭日益激烈和研發收益降低的情況下,CROs幫助他們高效,專業地管理研發活動,同時降低成本和風險。
  • 新興的生物技術公司–尤其是在中國湧現了許多生物技術公司,由於內部資源和能力有限,許多新興生物技術公司都嚴重依賴第三方服務提供商來指導其複雜的研發項目,從而產生了對CRO服務的額外需求。
  • 中國政府的優惠政策–中國政府已對監管審查和批准制度進行了改革,並涵蓋了整個中國醫藥市場的價值鏈,從臨床試驗、監管提交、製造到醫療保險都有覆蓋。 改革為專門從事創新藥物開發的CROs帶來了更多的商機,當中中國發佈了各種有利的政策來鼓勵藥品CRO市場的發展,例如在2017年發佈的《國際外包服務業發展第十三個五年計劃》。

按地區劃分的市場規模

美國是最大的臨床CRO市場,在2019年將達到209億美元,並預計在2019-24年期間將以8%的複合年增長率(CAGR)增長。 儘管中國的臨床CRO市場尚處於早期階段,但預計將從2019年的37億美元迅速增長到2024年的137億美元,複合年增長率為30%。

 

在中國,臨床試驗的數量從2015年的339項增加到2019年的1,031項。隨著藥物研發的不斷全球化和中國成為全球藥物研發行業不可或缺的一部分,在中國進行多區域臨床試驗(MRCTs)的數量也有所增加。自中國於2017年加入ICH(人類使用藥品註冊的技術要求國際會議)(一個旨在統一不同國家對藥品開發和註冊的技術和法規要求的組織),中國一直在更新和遵循適用於成熟市場藥品臨床開發的法規,海外產生的臨床數據亦可以用作補充數據以支持中國的註冊申請。另一方面,跨國製藥公司在中國進行臨床試驗的MRCTs越來越多,從以支持其向NMPA(國家藥品監督管理局,前稱中國食品藥品監督管理局)的註冊申請。

相關ETF

Global X中國生物科技ETF 使投資者能夠投資於對中國生物技術發展至關重要的公司,以獲得高增長潛力。。

其他特徵

  • 集中投資: 該基金針對新興主題和行業進行針對性的投資。
  • ETF的投資便利:透過一次買賣交易,該基金可以投資於數十家以中國生物科技為主題的公司。

點擊此處以了解更多有關Global X中國生物科技ETF 的資料。

China’s Clinical Research Services Industry

By: Saniel Chandrawat

Senior Investment Analyst – Healthcare, Energy, Utilities

Meet Our Research Team

The Pharmaceutical R&D Process

The process involves the discovery of drug candidates and the subsequent testing of drug candidates to demonstrate their safety and efficacy in order to obtain regulatory approval and enter the market. The process is generally costly, complex, risky and time-consuming. The entire process generally consists of four stages, namely (i) discovery, (ii) pre-clinical, (iii) clinical and registration including phases I to IV clinical trials and (iv) manufacturing.

R&D Outsourcing Services

The complex, risky, time-consuming and expensive nature of the pharmaceutical R&D process creates significant demand for pharmaceutical R&D outsourcing services. Such services are provided by two types of pharmaceutical R&D outsourcing service providers, namely CROs (Contract Research Organization) and CDMOs (Contract Development Manufacturing Organization). CROs support pharmaceutical companies with various R&D services covering the discovery, pre-clinical, as well as clinical and registration stages, while CDMOs mainly engage in CMC (Chemistry, Manufacturing and Controls) services in the manufacturing stage.

With the continuous development of the pharmaceutical industry, CROs are playing an increasingly important role in the capital-intensive, complicated, risky and time-consuming pharmaceutical R&D process. CROs provide comprehensive R&D solutions covering (i) discovery stage, (ii) pre-clinical stage and (iii) clinical stage including phase I to IV clinical trials.

Pharmaceutical companies rely on CROs with strong project management and scientific expertise, a specialized and experienced talent pool, innovative technologies and extensive regulatory experience to manage complex projects to reduce R&D risks and costs, and accelerate the development of safe and effective drugs.

The key factors that are driving growth in global as well as China’s pharmaceutical R&D services market include:

  • Rising R&D expenditure, driving the growth for CROs.
  • Increasing complexity of R&D process – this has led many pharmaceutical companies to outsource more R&D activities to experienced CROs with advanced technology.
  • Cost savings – Amid the increased competition for new drug development and lower R&D yield, CROs help them efficiently and expertly manage R&D activities while reducing costs and risks.
  • Emerging biotech companies – Numerous biotech companies have emerged, especially in China. Due to limited in-house resources and capabilities, many of these emerging biotech companies rely extensively on third-party service providers to navigate their complex R&D projects, generating additional demands for CRO services.
  • Favorable government policies in China – The Chinese government has undertaken a reform of its regulatory review and approval system that covers the entire value chain of China’s pharmaceutical market, from clinical trials, regulatory submission, manufacturing to medical insurance coverage. The reform has led to more business opportunities for CROs specialized in innovative drug development. As part of the reform, China has issued a variety of favorable government policies to encourage the development of the pharmaceutical CRO market, such as the 13th Five-Year Plan for International Outsourcing Service Industry Development published in 2017.

Market Sizing by Geographies

The US is the largest clinical CRO market at US$20.9 bln in 2019, and it is expected to grow at 8% compound annual growth rate (CAGR) during 2019-24. While China’s clinical CRO market is in relatively early stage, it is expected to grow rapidly from US$3.7 bln in 2019 to US$13.7 bln in 2024, a CAGR of 30%.

In China, the number of clinical trials increased from 339 in 2015 to 1,031 in 2019. As pharmaceutical R&D continues to globalize and China becomes an integral part of the global pharmaceutical R&D industry, the number of multi-regional clinical trials (MRCTs) conducted in China has also increased. Since China joined the ICH (International Conference on Harmonization of Technical Requirements for Registration of Pharmaceuticals for Human Use) in 2017, an organization that aims to unify technical and regulatory requirements of different countries for pharmaceuticals development and registration, China has been updating and conforming to its regulations governing the clinical development of pharmaceuticals to those of the developed markets. In particular, clinical data generated overseas can be used as supplementary data to support registration applications in China. On the other hand, there is a growing trend for multinational pharmaceutical companies to conduct MRCTs with clinical sites in China to support their registration application to NMPA (National Medical Products Administration, formerly known as China Food and Drug Administration).

Related ETF

Global X China Biotech ETF seeks to provide investment results that closely correspond to the performance of the Solactive China Biotech Index NTR, offering an access high growth potential through companies critical to the development of biotechnology in China.

Other Features

Targeted Exposure: The fund delivers targeted exposure to an emerging theme and industry.

ETF Efficiency: In a single trade, the fund delivers access to dozens of companies with high exposure to the biotech theme in China.

Click here to learn more about our Global X China Biotech ETF.