特斯拉 (Tesla) – 聚焦中国

作者: 亚太区研究部

我们的研究团队

特斯拉目前已超越丰田成为全球市值最高的汽车公司,尽管预计2020年特斯拉的销量仅为后者的5%以下,于全球销量占比不足1%。特斯拉一心专注于纯电动车策略,而无需同时兼顾传统内燃机汽车业务的盈利,因此被视为汽车领域的关键颠覆者,同时也是电池技术的创新者以及自主驾驶领域的先驱。

更重要的是,特斯拉为电动车领域初创企业展示了一条合法的盈利途径,并成功克服初期的执行及产能提升问题。市场预计,特斯拉将继续提高在高端汽车领域的市场占有率,并进一步打入中国市场。特斯拉期望壮大其在电池技术领域的领导能力,并进一步降低成本基础以保持竞争力,因此我们认为在中国建厂将使特斯拉更靠近其供应链,并充分利用中国迅速发展的电动车供应链的实力。

特斯拉设于上海的工厂是该公司首座美国境外的汽车制造厂,也是伊隆·马斯克雄伟目标的关键,他希望能提高特斯拉在全球最大汽车市场的销量,同时绕开中国对美产汽车征收的高额进口关税。这座新工厂(上海超级工厂)亦为中国首家外商独资汽车制造厂。特斯拉将主要为中国市场生产Model 3(轿车)及Model Y(紧凑型SUV)。根据Insideevs.com的数据,特斯拉Model 3是2019年最畅销的充电式电动车,市场占有率接近14%。其目标是于2至3年里将产量提高至每年50万辆。由于特斯拉于中国生产所需的零部件约70%仍来自海外,因此根据特斯拉针对中国选择的策略,推动生产本地化以提高利润率或降低平均售价是合理的。

特斯拉中国的时间表

  • 201810— 特斯拉以73亿人民币于上海市政府获得上海临港区1200英亩土地的使用权,用于建设特斯拉首座美国境外的超级工厂。
  • 20191— 特斯拉举行超级工厂动工仪式并开始施工。
  • 20198— 特斯拉上海超级工厂获得首个全面验收证书。
  • 20199— 特斯拉上海超级工厂通过第二个政府验收。
  • 201910— 特斯拉上海超级工厂获得制造认证,并开始生产Model 3。
  • 201912— 中国制造的Model 3轿车于上海超级工厂正式交付于其内部员工车主。
  • 20201— 中国制造的Model 3轿车正式交付予客户;特斯拉开始生产Model Y汽车。

2020年,中国对电动车的补贴将进一步下调10%,且下调后的补贴仅提供予30万元人民币以下的电动车。这使得特斯拉将其中国制造的model 3基础车型的起步价下调至30万元人民币以下,以符合补贴条件。该公司还下调了其加长版车型的价格,以抵销即将取消补贴带来的影响,因为该车的售价仍将超过符合补贴条件的30万元人民币。这增加了特斯拉对降低成本从而维持/提高利润的需求。

特斯拉上海工厂制造总监宋刚接受彭博新闻社采访时表示,特斯拉计划于今年年底前将将于中国本特采购的比例由现时的30%提升至100%。我们相信此举将使中国国内供应链受惠于此国产化趋势。但考虑到特斯拉的零部件外包水平低于传统内燃机汽车(大部分成本分配予电池制造商),并且特斯拉的产量于中国总光伏市场中占比仍很低(瑞银预计,特斯拉2020年的产量仅占中国光伏产量的0.5%,倘若根据特斯拉每年生产50万组的三年计划计量,这一比例将达到2%)。

特斯拉于中国的主要供应商包括宁德时代(电动车电池和储能器)、华域(座椅、大型内部及外部部件、汽车仪表、中央控制台、模塑件等)、均胜电子(安全带、安全气囊、方向盘、传感器)、华达汽车(车身冲压件)、芜湖长信科技(仪表板)、三花智控(暖通空调),宏发科技(直流继电器)、广东鸿图科技(铝合金支撑件)等。

如果中国电动车供应链能够满足特斯拉在质素及成本方面的严格要求,我们相信这将有助于进一步提升中国企业的信誉,并说服更多全球原始设备制造商给这些公司一个合作机会。随著订单增多,电动车价值链中的中国企业将有机会投入更多资金用于改进技术,并通过规模经济降低成本。这最终将提升中国整体电动车供应链,对中国政府、电动车供应商及原始设备制造商而言皆为双赢的局面。

特斯拉成功成为全球最大汽车的制造商,实现里程碑式重大进展1。不断增长的需求及制造商的产能将继续使其主要供应商受益。 Global X 中国电动车 ETF,提供机会投资于对中国电动车行业至关重要的公司,是您抓住这一日益增长的机遇的绝佳投资工具。

Tesla – All Eyes on China

By: Wei Wei Chua, CPA

Senior Investment Analyst – Industrials, Autos, Telecoms

Meet Our Research Team

Tesla is now the most valuable car company in the world by market capitalization, overtaking Toyota despite only being projected to sell less than 5% of the latter’s volume for 2020 and accounting for less than 1% of global volume. Tesla is seen as a key disruptor in the auto space stemming from its focused all-BEV strategy without the need to protect the profitability of a legacy ICE business, as well as an innovator in battery technology and a pioneer in autonomous driving.

More importantly, Tesla has demonstrated a legitimate pathway to profitability for EV start-ups and has successfully overcome teething execution and ramp up issues. The market expects Tesla to continue gaining market share in the premium auto space and further penetrate into the Chinese market. As Tesla looks to extend its leadership in battery technology and further lower its cost base to remain competitive, we believe that setting up a factory in China will allow Tesla to be closer to its supply chain and fully tap onto the capabilities of China’s burgeoning EV supply chain.

Tesla’s Shanghai factory is the company’s first car manufacturing site outside the USA and key to Elon Musk’s ambition of boosting sales in the world’s largest auto market while avoiding high import tariffs on US made cars. The new factory (Gigafactory 3) is also the first fully foreign owned auto manufacturing plant in China. Tesla will mainly produce the Model 3 (sedan) and Model Y (compact SUV) for the Chinese market. Tesla’s Model 3 was the top selling plug-in car in 2019 with close to 14% market share according to Insideevs.com. The aim is to ramp up production to as many as 500k vehicles per year in two to three years’ time. As around 70% of Tesla’s components for production in China are still sourced from overseas, it makes sense to localize production in order to improve margins or lower ASP, depending on the strategy Tesla chooses in China.

Tesla’s Timeline in China

  • Oct 2018 – Tesla attained the right to use 1,200 acres of land in Shanghai Lingang from Shanghai government with a total RMB973mn, which used for Tesla’s first Gigafactory outside the U.S.
  • Jan 2019 – Tesla held the groundbreaking ceremony of the Gigafactory and started the construction.
  • Aug 2019 – Tesla’s Shanghai Gigafactory was granted the first comprehensive acceptance certification.
  • Sep 2019 – Tesla’s Shanghai Gigafactory passed the second government acceptance check.
  • Oct 2019 – Tesla’s Shanghai Gigafactory received the manufacturing certification and started the production of Model 3.
  • Dec 2019 – The China-made Model 3 Sedans was officially delivered in Shanghai Gigafactory to its employee customers.
  • Jan 2020 – The China-made Model 3 Sedans was officially delivered to its customers; Tesla started the manufacturing of Model Y.

China further reduced subsidies for EVs by 10% in 2020 and made the lower subsidies only available to EVs that cost less than Rmb300k. This caused Tesla to cut the starting price of the base model of its China made Model 3 to below Rmb300k in order to qualify for the subsidies. The company also cut the price of its longer range variant to offset the subsidy removal soon because the car would still cost more than the Rmb300k threshold required to qualify. This increases Tesla’s need to lower costs in order to maintain/improve margins.

According to Tesla’s manufacturing director of its Shanghai plant Song Gang in an interview with Bloomberg News, Tesla plans to increase local sourcing to 100% in China by the end of the year from the current 30%. We believe this will benefit the domestic supply chain in China from the import substitution trend. That said, expectations should be tempered given Tesla’s lower level of component outsourcing vs traditional ICE cars (with the majority of costs being allocated to battery makers) and Tesla’s still small production volume as a percentage of China’s total PV market (UBS forecasts Tesla’s 2020 production volume to account for just 0.5% of China’s PV volume and reach 2% based on Tesla’s three-year plan to produce 500k units a year).

Some of the key suppliers to Tesla in China include CATL (EV battery and energy storage), Huayu (seats, large interior and exterior parts, clusters, central consoles, moldings etc), Joyson Electronics (seat belt, air bag, steering wheel, sensors), Huada Automotive (auto body stampings), Wuhu Token Sciences (dashboard), Sanhua Intelligent (HVAC), Hongfa Technology (direct-current relay), Guangdong Hongtu Technology (aluminum alloy support parts) etc.

If China’s EV supply chain is able to meet Tesla’s stringent requirements on quality and cost, we believe this will help to further boost the credibility of the Chinese companies and persuade more global OEMs to give these companies a shot. With more orders, Chinese companies in the EV value chain will be given opportunities to improve their technology with more funding and reduce costs through economies of scale. This will ultimately elevate the whole EV supply chain in China and is a win-win situation for the Chinese government, EV suppliers and OEMs.

Tesla has made meaningful progress by achieving the milestone of being the world’s largest automaker1. The growing demand and manufacturers increasing production capacities will continue benefitting its key suppliers. Global X China Electric Vehicle ETF, offering exposure to companies critical to the development of electric vehicles in China, is your tool for accessing this growing opportunity.