远程医疗与数字健康

作者: Mirae Asset Global Investment

我们的研究团队

疫情肆虐,在此期间远程医疗受到广泛关注。居家令使全球大量人口宅在家,促进与医生远程沟通及实现患者监测的科技变得更重要1。有美国医疗保健提供者报告,自疫情爆发以来,远程医疗接诊量(即患者透过语音或视讯聊天与医生联络的接诊数量)增加了 175 倍2。此外,疫情对全球医疗保健系统带来的压力揭示了透过更有效地利用科技及数码化来实现医疗现代化的广泛机会。

扩大医疗保健覆盖面

全球半数人口缺乏基本的医疗服3。其中部分原因在于所处地理位置偏远、与医疗保健资源或专业人员距离遥远。 4 远程医疗有助于将基本医疗服务延伸到这些人。

自 2010 年以来,美国乡村地区关闭了 120 家医院,而在这些地区中,远程医疗颇受欢迎并初见成效5。根据美国国家公共广播电台 (NPR) 近期的一项调查显示,有 24% 的乡村成年人表示曾使用远程医疗,其中 90% 的人表示满意6。为了使个人及医疗保健系统两方面都受益,采用乡村远程医疗能够限制从乡村向较发展地区急诊室转诊的患者人数7。可是,乡村地区没有宽频网络是实行的限制之一,但美国联邦通讯委员会(FCC) 于2020 年7 月承诺投入2 亿美元用于改善乡村远程医疗基础设施,对有关服务而言有正面作用,亦有助于高速网络及5G 技术的普及8

远程医疗技术在全球偏远地区亦存在类似机会。在撒哈拉以南的非洲地区,皮肤病十分常见,但皮肤科医生却很稀缺,研究人员因而建立了一个远程皮肤科服务行动。在他们的努力下,诊断了 49% 患有炎症性皮肤疾病的患者,并获得了 81% 本地医护人员的积极回应9。无国界医生在索马里亦实施了一个类似的远程医疗计划,在为期一年的远程咨询中,有 56% 的咨询增加了重要诊断,25% 的人具有致命病症10。截至目前,尽管许多偏远地区缺乏大规模部署该技术的网络基础设施,但全球互联网利用率仍在持续上升。

经济条件亦是导致人们放弃治疗的原因之一。在经济合作暨发展组织(经合组织)国家中,有17% 的成年人表示财务方面的考虑是导致其医疗需求未获满足11,而远程医疗便有助于降低该等成本。在美国,医疗保险提供商 Anthem 将远程医疗就诊的总共付额降至 5 美元,而现场初级保健就诊则为 25-35 美元,可见两者的差距悬殊12。一次过问诊的即时价值显而易见,但是后续跟进带来的综合成本节约可能带来成本节省,从而对患者寻求医疗保健的无差别曲线产生积极影响。

总体而言,美国退伍军人医疗协会估计每位参加远程医疗的患者每年可节省 6,500 美元13。如加上出行费用,则可以节省更多。 1996 年至 2013 年间,加州大学戴维斯医疗系统发现,远程医疗为患者节省了合共 290 万美元的直接出行成本及 9 年的交通时间14。尽管平价意味着提供者的单次服务使用成本降低,但总体成本节省、便利性以及满足需求等优势推动了远程医疗的使用,足以弥补任何收入损失15

智慧治疗,效果更佳

数码健康工具正为医疗保健服务方式带来革命性改变,并提供崭新的解决方案以改善各个领域的医疗成效。疗程依从性,即患者遵从医生嘱咐及治疗的能力,就是其中一个领域。

疗程依从性普遍为提供有效治疗的主要障碍——不足 50% 的患者完全遵循医疗保健提供者的指导方案。 16 有研究显示,每年因为不依从疗程而导致死亡的人数大约 125,000 人,占美国住院人数的 25%。 17 远程医疗让医生与患者之间的沟通更加方便,并节省成本,可能是一种有效的解决方案,更特别适合需要持续监测的慢性疾病。

例如,慢性心力衰竭 (CHF) 患者需要动态风险识别和及时干预来管理其身体状况。在一项充血性心力衰竭研究分析中,研究人员发现使用远程医疗的患者,相较于未使用远程医疗的患者,在死亡率方面降低了15% 至56%(19 项研究中的18 项) 。 18 另一项研究关注远程医疗对于严重精神疾病患者,加强用药依从性的效果。结果显示,六个月后,使用远程医疗的患者群体更大可能达到用药依从性。 19

物联网 (IoT) 医疗设备、联网可穿戴设备及自我汇报的流动健康应用程式进一步拉近了医疗保健提供者与患者之间的现实距离,在传统医疗院所以外的地方亦可进行监测。 2017 年,美国食品药品管理局 (FDA) 批准了一款内置感应器的可食用药丸,用于治疗成年人的精神分裂症、躁狂症、第一型躁郁症及抑郁症。药丸会同步至可穿戴贴片,然后与智慧手机进行沟通并产生服药情况的相关资讯,对患者及医疗保健提供者均十分有用。 20

除依从性监测之外,这种技术还可以让医生远距离了解患者身体状况及获取重要资讯。远程重症监护病房 (eICU) 配备大量联网设备,包括摄影机、呼吸机及监视系统,追踪体温、血氧饱和度、心电图、心率、血压等生命体征。数据显示,这些中心可以使患者死亡率降低 15-60%,平均住院时间平均缩短 30%。 21

在较小的规模上,自我管理的联网医疗设备可以为医生提供类似资讯,同时可赋予患者自我护理的控制权,对于终身慢性疾病(如 1 型糖尿病)的治疗尤其重要。以往,这种病症需要密切监测血糖水平及管理胰岛素用药。但现在配备物联网的连续血糖监测仪 (CGM)及胰岛素泵等设备,大大简化这一过程,并可自动检查血糖水平,发放预测剂量的药物,并以可存取方式整理健康相关数据。 22

将以上设备、健康应用程式等收集到的数据,与基因组资讯及更大型医疗系统的数据结合,可以发挥预防疾病的功能。人工智能 (AI) 可以对这些数据加以利用,找出既定模式以达到精准治疗及智慧诊断。截至2020 年1 月,FDA 已批准超过60种不同的AI 演算法作医疗用途,当中主要是分析医学扫描及图像的演算法,包括分析甲状腺结节特征、发现肝脏和肺部病变以及检测乳癌的算法,准确度与放射科医生不相伯仲。 23

结论

远程医疗及数码医疗可以缩短地理上的距离,降低经济上的负担,使医疗保健造福更多人,从而为大规模采用提供机会。该技术有机会彻底改变治疗方案、改善患者治疗成效,并简化医疗保健系统。

我们认为,提供服务以数码媒介将医患联系起来的公司,以及开发联网医疗保健设备、从事医疗保健分析领域及/或管理数码化领域的公司,将受惠于这一主题的兴起。

Telemedicine & Digital Health

By: Mirae Asset Global Investment

Meet Our Research Team

Telemedicine and Digital Health has received significant attention throughout the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. With large swaths of the global population under stay-at-home orders, technology-based tools that facilitate remote communication with doctors and enable patient monitoring became critical.1 Some U.S. health care providers report that telehealth visits, defined as consultations in which a patient connects with a doctor via voice or video chat, increased by as much as 175x since the pandemic began.2 Additionally, the strain the pandemic put on all aspects of the global health care system highlights broader opportunities to modernize health care by more effectively leveraging technology and digitization.

Expanding Health Care’s Reach

Half of the global population lacks access to essential health services.3 A portion of this is attributable to geographic location and physical distance from health care resources and/or professionals.4 Telemedicine can help expand essential care to these individuals.

Rural areas in the U.S., which saw 120 hospitals closures since 2010, have welcomed telemedicine and seen early successes.5 According to a recent survey conducted by NPR (National Public Radio), 24% of rural adults indicated use of telehealth, with 90% of those individuals noting satisfaction with the service.6 To the benefit of both individuals and health care systems, rural telemedicine adoption can limit the number of emergency room transfers from rural to more developed areas.7 Previous limitations to these services included lack of broadband access, but the FCC’s (Federal Communications Commission) July 2020 commitment of $200M to improve rural telehealth infrastructure should prove to be a tailwind to these services, as should broader rollouts of high speed internet and 5G technology.8

Similar opportunity for the technology lies in even more remote locations around the world. In sub-Saharan Africa – where skin ailments are common, but dermatologists are scarce – researchers established a mobile teledermatology service. Through their work, they diagnosed 49% of patients seen with inflammatory skin diseases and received positive feedback from 81% of local health care workers.9 Doctors Without Borders similarly implemented a telemedicine program in Somalia and, in one year’s worth of tele-consults, found that 56% of those consults added significant diagnoses and 25% caught life-threatening conditions.10 While many of these remote areas lack the connectivity infrastructure for full scale deployment of this technology as of now, global internet adoption continues to rise.

Economic constraints also contribute to individuals forgoing medical treatment. In OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) countries, 17% of adults indicate that financial considerations contribute to their unmet medical needs.11 Telemedicine can play a role in reducing these costs. In the U.S., health insurance provider Anthem reduced its co-pay for telehealth visits to $5, a stark contrast to the $25-35 charged for in-person primary-care visits.12 The immediate value from a one-off consultation is apparent, but the compounding cost-savings from ensuing follow-ups could result in savings that could positively affect patients’ indifference curves for seeking health care. In all, the U.S. Veterans Health association estimates $6,500 annual savings for each patient participating in telehealth.13 Additional savings can come from minimized travel costs. Between 1996 and 2013, the University of California Davis Health System found that telemedicine saved its patients $2.9 million of total direct travel costs and 9.0 years of transit time.14 And although affordability means lower per-use service costs for providers, the incentives presented by overall cost-savings, convenience, and meeting unmet needs drives usage and adoption, potentially more than making up for any lost revenue.15

Smart Treatments and Better Outcomes

Digital health tools are revolutionizing the ways that providers care for patients, delivering novel solutions to enhance health outcomes across a variety of areas. Treatment adherence, or patients’ ability to follow through with medical advice and care, is one such area.

Treatment adherence is widely known as a primary impediment to the effective provision of care – less than 50% of patients demonstrate full adherence to provider-directed regimens.16 Some studies show that non-adherence causes around 125,000 deaths and up to 25% of U.S. hospitalizations each year.17 Telemedicine offers a potentially effective solution, by making communication with doctors more convenient and less expensive. This can prove especially valuable for chronic illnesses that require constant monitoring.

Sufferers of chronic heart failure (CHF), for example, require dynamic risk identification and timely intervention to manage their condition. In an analysis of congestive heart failure studies, researchers found that patients using telemedicine saw mortality decreases ranging from 15% to 56% compared to those not using telemedicine (across 18 of the 19 studies reviewed).18 A separate study looked at the efficacy of telemedicine in enforcing medication adherence in patients with severe mental illness. Results showed that after six months, the patient cohort using telemedicine was far more likely to be medication-adherent.19

Internet-of-Things (IoT) medical devices, connected wearables, and self-reporting mobile health applications further close the physical distance between providers and patients, allowing for monitoring away from traditional points of care. In 2017, the FDA (Food and Drug Administration) approved an ingestible sensor-equipped pill to treat schizophrenia, mania, bipolar I disorder, and depression in adults. The pill syncs up to a wearable patch, which then communicates with a smart phone to yield information around ingestion that can be useful to patients and providers.20

Beyond adherence monitoring, such technology can give doctors valuable information around their patients’ health from afar. Remote intensive care units (eICUs) contain myriad connected devices ranging from cameras, ventilators, and monitoring systems that track vitals like temperature, SpO2 (oxygen saturation), ECG (Electrocardiography), heart rate, blood pressure, and more. Data shows that these centers can contribute to a 15-60% reduction in mortality and can reduce average stay time by 30% on average.21

On a smaller scale, self-administered connected medical devices can give doctors similar information, while also empowering patients with control over their own care. This is especially valuable when it comes to treating lifelong chronic conditions like diabetes 1. In the past, this condition required attentive monitoring of blood sugar levels and management of insulin administration. But today, devices like IoT-equipped continuous glucose monitors (CGM) and insulin pumps can make the process mostly hands off, automatically checking blood sugar levels, delivering predictively dosed medication, and organizing health data in an accessible way.22

Data from these devices, health applications, and other sources can offer preventative health benefits when paired with genomic information and data from the broader health community. Artificial intelligence (AI) can put this data to use, finding patterns that can lead to precision treatments and smart diagnoses. By January 2020, the FDA approved over 60 different AI algorithms for medical treatment. These mostly included algorithms that analyze medical scans and images, including ones that characterize thyroid nodules, find lesions in the liver and lungs, and detect breast cancer with similar accuracy to that of radiologists.23

Conclusion

Telemedicine and Digital Health can expand access to health care by making it more geographically and financially accessible, presenting opportunities for large scale adoption. Additional opportunity lies in the technologies’ potential to revolutionize treatment options, improve patient outcomes, and streamline health care systems.

In our view, companies that offer services that connect physicians and patients over digital mediums will benefit from the rise of this theme, as will those that develop connected health care devices, operate in the health care analytics space, and/or the administrative digitization segment.